2018-2019 Lectures

We offer three official meetings each month, on the 1st, 2nd & 3rd Tuesday of every month.
 
 Workshop/Introduction,      Social evening,      & Main Lecture(Guest Speaker)

All meetings start at 20:00 and last approximately 90 minutes.

Venues

  • Tuesday, 17th September 2019.

Professor Isobel Hook (University of Lancaster) will be speaking on 'The Extremely Large Telescope Project'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 22nd October 2019.

AGM () will be speaking on 'AGM'

Goostrey Village Hall, CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 19th November 2019.

Peter Williamson (FRAS, BBC Radio Shropshire Eye on the Sky) will be speaking on 'Using remote access observatories for public education and access to off world data'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 17th December 2019.

Dr Peter Fawdon (Open University) will be speaking on 'Water,Volcanoes and Robots on Mars'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Saturday, 4th January 2020.

Dr Allan Chapman (Wadham College, Oxford ) will be speaking on 'TBC'

Calvary Church, Macclesfield, SK11 8RH at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 18th February 2020.

Professor Jim Wild (University of Lancaster) will be speaking on 'Weathering Solar Storms: Living with Space Weather'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 17th March 2020.

Dr Julian Onions (University of Nottingham) will be speaking on 'Galaxies - One Gigayear at a time'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 21st April 2020.

TBC () will be speaking on 'TBC'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 19th May 2020.

TBC () will be speaking on 'TBC'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 16th June 2020.

Dr Geoffrey Evatt (University of Manchester) will be speaking on 'The Lost Meteorites of Antarctica '

Goostrey Village Hall, CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 21st July 2020.

Tom McNally (Imperial College, London) will be speaking on 'Extremophiles: Cold and Hungry'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 18th August 2020.

ANNUAL SUMMER EXHIBITION

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 15th September 2020.

Dr Manish Patel (Open University) will be speaking on 'Exploring Mars with the ExoMars Trace Gas Orbiter and Rover'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 17th November 2020.

Mr Stuart Atkinson (Eddington Astronomical Society) will be speaking on 'TBD'

Goostrey Village Hall, CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 15th December 2020.

TBC () will be speaking on 'TBC'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

Observing

Local observing sessions
We hold regular observing and imaging sessions at dark-sky sites across Macclesfield.

starparty

Weekend field trips
Learn more about our observing field trips where we observe the night sky in all its glory.

Top

© Macclesfield Astronomical Society 2019

This page was last modified on 23 December 2018