2020-2021 Lectures

We offer three official meetings each month, on the 1st, 2nd & 3rd Tuesday of every month.
 
 Workshop/Introduction,      Social evening,      & Main Lecture(Guest Speaker)

All meetings start at 20:00 and last approximately 90 minutes.

Venues

  • Tuesday, 17th March 2020.

Dr Julian Onions (University of Nottingham) will be speaking on 'Galaxies - One Gigayear at a time'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 21st April 2020.

Professor Gary Davis (Former Director of the British Telescopes on Mauna Kea, Hawaii) will be speaking on 'The Story of British Astronomy in Hawaii'

Goostrey Village Hall, CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 19th May 2020.

Heidi Theimann (Open University) will be speaking on 'Variable Stars and Citizen Science'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 16th June 2020.

Dr Geoffrey Evatt (University of Manchester) will be speaking on 'The Lost Meteorites of Antarctica (www.ukantarcticmeteorites.com)'

Goostrey Village Hall, CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 21st July 2020.

Tom McNally (Imperial College, London) will be speaking on 'Extremophiles: Cold and Hungry'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 18th August 2020.

ANNUAL SUMMER EXHIBITION

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 15th September 2020.

Dr Manish Patel (Open University) will be speaking on 'Exploring Mars with the ExoMars Trace Gas Orbiter and Rover'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 20th October 2020.

AGM

Goostrey Village Hall, CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 17th November 2020.

Mr Stuart Atkinson (Eddington Astronomical Society) will be speaking on 'Rovers on Mars, The Incredible Journeys of Spirit and Opportunity'

Goostrey Village Hall, CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 15th December 2020.

Dr Robin Catchpole (Institute of Astronomy, University of Cambridge) will be speaking on 'The Frontiers of Astronomy'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Saturday, 9th January 2021.

Dr Allan Chapman (Wadham College, Oxford) will be speaking on 'TBC'

Calvary Church, Merebrook Rd, Macclesfield at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 16th February 2021.

Dr Steve Hurley (Macclesfield Astronomical Society) will be speaking on 'The planet Venus'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 16th March 2021.

Professor Robert Walsh (University of Central Lancashire) will be speaking on 'Living near a star; new encounters with our Sun'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 20th April 2021.

Professor Rob Jeffries (Keele University) will be speaking on 'Gaia - the billion star mapping machine'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 18th May 2021.

Peter Williamson FRAS (BBC Radio Shropshire, Eye on the Sky) will be speaking on 'TBC'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 15th June 2021.

TBC () will be speaking on 'TBC'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 20th July 2021.

TBC () will be speaking on 'TBC'

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

  • Tuesday, 17th August 2021.

ANNUAL SUMMER EXHIBITION

Goostrey Village Hall CW4 8PE at 8:00 PM

Observing

Local observing sessions
We hold regular observing and imaging sessions at dark-sky sites across Macclesfield.

starparty

Weekend field trips
Learn more about our observing field trips where we observe the night sky in all its glory.

Top

© Macclesfield Astronomical Society 2020

This page was last modified on 18 January 2020